Official website of Nendaz Tourism
Story of Cheesy-45542
Heritage

Story of Cheesy

/ /
Heritage

Story of Cheesy

About 11 years ago, at the end of summer, an adorable Hérens cow, named Cheesy, was born on one of the great pasture of the region. Now she is spending her happy childhood there with her sister Gala, her mother Tina, a powerful queen cow who has already been victorious during numerous cow fights and her father Minos, a magnificent bull.  

Cheesy goes to school in Nendaz. During her free time, she enjoys walking, especially along the bisses, as well as mountain biking. Unlike her other cow friends, she doesn’t dream of becoming a queen cow because she doesn’t enjoy fighting. During the winter, Cheesy adores skiing down the slopes of the 4 Vallées and enjoying the breathtaking view from the Mont-Fort. But what she prefers above all, is to laugh and play with the children who pass by her pen. It is for them that she has created, with her friend Hector the squirrel, a treasure hunt along the ‘bare foot path’ in Siviez.

This winter, she has been a little bored in her cowshed, far from the lush mountain pastures and the families who pass by to say hello. Luckily for her that her parents often took her skiing.

Her mother, Tina, tried in vain to reassure her and to remind her that, once summer gets underway, she will go back up on to the mountain pastures and meet lots of children again. But Cheesy was still very sad.

So, in the spring, to help her take her mind off things, her father Minos suggested that she try out the new treasure hunt designed by Nendaz Tourisme along the sculpture path. Cheesy, accompanied by her sister and her friend Hector, enthusiastically set off on this new adventure. They had great fun searching for the various forest animals. As well as easily winning their reward, the three friends made a surprising discovery: they saw a big poster that Nendaz Tourisme was looking for a mascot.

Become a mascot? Of course, here was the perfect solution for Cheesy!  This was her big chance to spend more time with the children and to never be sad again. Without wasting a second, she hurried home to tell her parents of her new project. For them, Cheesy was far too young to carry out this mission. She had plenty of time to make this dream come true later.

Upset, Cheesy went to see her friend Hector to ask for his advice. Hector, who thinks she is very funny and that she would be perfect for the job, encouraged her to take a chance and apply for the position. When they arrived at Nendaz Tourisme she felt overwhelmed with doubt. All kinds of animals had turned up for the occasion : goats, marmots, sheep and even some fellow cows. At the sight of all these competitors, Cheesy had hundreds of question flying through her head: And what if her parents had been right after all ? And what if she did lack experience ?

After a few minutes of waiting, it was her turn to present herself. It was too late to hesitate, she had to show that she was made for the job. In less than five short minutes, she swept the jury off their feet with her communicative cheerfulness and her enthusiasm. They were unanimous : they decided that Cheesy would be a wonderful mascot.

From this summer onwards, you may meet Cheesy during the various events and activities proposed by Nendaz Tourisme. Cheesy will come down from her mountain pasture specially to meet you and spend an unforgettable moment by your side.
Story of Cheesy-45542
Story of Cheesy-45542
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Opening hours :
Mon-Fri | 09:00-12:00 14:00-18:00
Sat | 09:00-12:30 13:30-17:30
Sun | 09:00-14:00

Site officiel de l’office du tourisme de Nendaz
L'histoire de Cheesy-45542
Patrimoine

L'histoire de Cheesy

/ /
Patrimoine

L'histoire de Cheesy

Il y a environ 11 ans, à la fin de l’été, une adorable vache d’Hérens, prénommée Cheesy, naissait sur l'un des merveilleux alpage de la commune de Nendaz. Elle y passe aujourd'hui une enfance heureuse avec sa petite sœur Gala, sa maman Tina, une reine puissante qui a déjà remporté de multiples combats, et son papa Minos, un magnifique taureau.  

Cheesy va à l'école à Nendaz. Durant son temps libre, elle apprécie les balades, surtout le long des bisses, ainsi que le VTT. Contrairement à ses copines, elle ne rêve pas devenir reine car elle n'aime pas lutter. Cheesy adore aussi dévaler les pistes des 4 Vallées et profiter de la sublime vue depuis le Mont-Fort. Mais ce qu’elle préfère par-dessus tout, c’est faire rire les enfants qui passent à proximité de son enclos. C'est d'ailleurs pour ses jeunes amis qu'elle a créé, avec son ami Hector l’écureuil, une chasse aux trésors sur le sentier pieds nus à Siviez.

Cet hiver, elle s'est un peu ennuyée dans son étable, loin de ses verts pâturages et des familles qui passent lui dire bonjour. Heureusement que ses parents l'ont emmenée régulièrement skier.

Sa maman Tina a eu beau la rassurer et lui rappeler, que l’été venu, elle remonterait à l’alpage et rencontrerait à nouveau de nombreux enfants, Cheesy n'avait pas le moral. 

Alors, au printemps, pour lui changer les idées, son papa Minos lui propose de tester la nouvelle chasse aux trésors réalisée par Nendaz Tourisme sur le chemin des sculptures. Très motivée, Cheesy, accompagnée de sa sœur et d’Hector, part à l’aventure. Ils s’amusent bien à chercher les différents animaux de la forêt. En plus de remporter haut la main leur récompense, les trois amis font une découverte inattendue : une grande affiche qui annonce que Nendaz Tourisme recherche une mascotte.

Devenir une mascotte ? Mais bien sûr, voilà la solution pour Cheesy ! Elle serait ainsi très souvent entourée d’enfants, jouerait avec eux et ne serait plus jamais triste. Sans perdre une seconde, elle s’empresse de parler de son nouveau projet à ses parents. Mais ces derniers ne sont pas emballés par cette idée. Pour eux, Cheesy est encore trop jeune pour cette mission. Elle aura tout le temps de réaliser son rêve plus tard.

Contrariée, Cheesy se réfugie chez son ami l’écureuil pour lui demander conseil. Hector, qui la trouve très drôle et parfaite pour ce rôle, l’incite à tout de même tenter sa chance. Arrivée à Nendaz Tourisme, elle sent le doute l’envahir. Toutes sortes d’animaux sont venus pour l’occasion : des chèvres, des marmottes, des moutons et même d’autres vaches. Face à tous ses concurrents, mille questions se bousculent dans sa tête : Et si finalement ses parents avaient raison ? Et si elle était trop inexpérimentée ?

Après quelques minutes d’attente, c’est à son tour de se présenter. Plus de place pour les hésitations, elle doit montrer que ce poste est fait pour elle. En moins de cinq minutes, elle épate les jurés avec sa bonne humeur communicative et son enthousiasme. A l’unanimité, ils décident que Cheesy fera une merveilleuse mascotte.

Dès cet été, tu pourras donc croiser Cheesy lors des différents événements et manifestations proposés par Nendaz Tourisme. Cheesy descendra tout spécialement de son alpage pour te rencontrer et passer des moments inoubliables à tes côtés.
L'histoire de Cheesy-45542
L'histoire de Cheesy-45542
Partagez sur
NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch
Heures d'ouverture :
Lun-Ven | 9h-12h 14h-18h
Sam | 9h-12h30 13h30-17h30
Dim | 9h-14h