Official website of Nendaz Tourism
Day 2: cabane d'Essertze - cabane Saint-Laurent-44116
/ /
Itinéraire

Day 2: cabane d'Essertze - cabane Saint-Laurent

Distance: 14.5 kilometres
Download your trail

Leave the cabin towards the Gouilles d’Essertze (mountain lakes). When you reach the lakes, follow the path on your left which runs along these little lakes. The path begins to gently go uphill before leading you to a cross which marks the summit of the Mont Rouge (2'491 metres). Admire the increduble panoramic view before coming downhill to reach the mountain restaurant Les Chottes (2'209 metres) where you can stop for a drink. Continue for 10 minutes until you reach the Combyre-Meina mountain pastures where the famous raclette cheese is produced from mid-July.

At the restaurant at Combatseline (2’238 metres), enjoy the surrounding scenery laid ou before you. Continue along the Bisse de Chervé which constitutes a spectacular mountain path with a sumptuous view over the Cleuson dam. Be careful, the path is narrow in some places. From the bridge at the end of the Cleuson lake, and after a 40-minute ascent you will reach the Saint-Laurent Mountain Cabin where you will spend your second night.

Perched at 2'490 metres above sea level, the Saint-Laurent Mountain Cabin was built in 1968 by members of the Ski Club Arpettaz (Nendaz). Once a meeting place for friends of the club and a summer training camp for young skiers of Nendaz, the cabin is now an essential stopover for nature enthusiasts. Its authentic and rustic style will certainly surprise you. The mountain atmosphere that reigns there offers you a unique and unforgettable experience. Younes, the caretaker, and his staff will give you a warm welcome.

If you still have time and energy, the Grand Désert Lake (2'642 metres) is 30 minutes on foot above the cabin. This lake is included on the “Along the Glacier” educational tour inaugurated in 2020. Departing from the Saint-Laurent Cabin, it forms a three-hour hiking circuit, composed of eight information posts accessible to all.


Saint-Laurent Mountain Cabin information

  • The evening meal is served at 19:00
  • Slippers available
  • Only accepts payment by cash
  • Electricity available from 19:00 to 20:00
  • Shower available CHF 5.-
  • Dogs permitted
  • Open from the 26 June until the 19 September 2021
  • Contact: +41 (0) 79 229 01 74
  • Measures Covid-19

Characteristics
Duration 5h00
Ascension 689 metres
Descent 409 metres
Highest point 2490


Contact

NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch

OPENING HOURS
Mon-Fri 09:00-12:00 | 14:00-17:00
Sat 09:00-12:30 | 13:30-17:00
Sun closed

Site officiel de l’office du tourisme de Nendaz
Jour 2: cabane d'Essertze - cabane Saint-Laurent-44116
/ /
Itinéraire

Jour 2: cabane d'Essertze - cabane Saint-Laurent

Distance : 14.5 kilomètres
Téléchargez le parcours

Partez de la cabane en direction des Gouilles d’Essertze. Arrivés aux gouilles, suivez le sentier sur votre gauche qui longe ces petits lacs. Le chemin commence à monter progressivement avant d’atteindre la croix qui symbolise le sommet du Mont-Rouge (2’491 mètres). Admirez le magnifique panorama avant de descendre pour rejoindre le restaurant d’altitude Les Chottes (2'209 mètres) où vous avez la possibilité de vous désaltérer. Poursuivez durant 10 minutes jusqu’à l’alpage de la Combyre-Meina où le fameux fromage à raclette est fabriqué dès la mi-juillet.

Au restaurant de Combatseline (2’238 mètres), profitez du paysage qui s’offre à vous. Poursuivez le long du Bisse de Chervé qui constitue un spectaculaire sentier d’altitude avec une vue somptueuse sur le barrage de Cleuson teinté de couleurs turquoises. Soyez prudents, le chemin est parfois étroit. Depuis le pont au fond du lac de Cleuson, après 40 minutes de montée, se trouve la cabane Saint-Laurent dans laquelle vous passerez votre deuxième nuit.
 
Perché à 2'490 mètres, le refuge Saint-Laurent fut construit en 1968 par des membres du Ski Club Arpettaz (Nendaz). Autrefois lieu de rassemblement des amis du club et d’entrainement d’été pour les jeunes skieurs Nendards, la cabane est aujourd’hui une étape incontournable pour les passionnés de la nature. Elle vous surprendra pour son côté authentique et rustique. L’atmosphère montagnarde qui y règne vous offre une expérience unique et inoubliable. Younes, le gardien, ainsi que son équipe vous réservent un accueil chaleureux.

S’il vous reste du temps et de l’énergie, le lac du Grand Désert (2’642 mètres) se situe à 30 minutes à pied au-dessus de la cabane. Ce dernier se trouve également sur le parcours didactique « Au fil du glacier » inauguré en 2020. Au départ de la cabane Saint-Laurent, il propose une boucle d’environ 03:00 de marche, comporte huit panneaux didactiques et est accessible à tous.

Informations de la cabane Saint-Laurent
  • Le repas du soir est servi à 19:00
  • Pantoufles à disposition
  • Accepte uniquement le paiement en espèces
  • Electricité disponible de 19:00 à 20:00
  • Douche disponible CHF 5.-
  • Chiens autorisés
  • Ouverte du 26 juin au 19 septembre 2021
  • Contact : +41 (0) 79 229 01 74
  • Mesures Covid-19

Caracteristiques
Durée 5h00
Ascension 689 mètres
Descente 409 mètres
Point le plus élevé 2490


Contact

NENDAZ TOURISME
Route de la Télécabine 1
1997 Haute-Nendaz
+41 27 289 55 89 | info@nendaz.ch

HEURES D’OUVERTURE :
Lu-Ve 09:00-12:00 | 14:00-17:00
Sa 09:00-12:30 | 13:30-17:00
Di fermé